Databases
General
Databases on a wide variety of subjects, ranging from nanotechnology to environment and construction to care for the elderly.
Academic Search encompasses the expansive academic disciplines now being offered in colleges and universities. This resource provides an elaborate array of titles to cornerstone academia. Users accessing this resource will be provided with comprehensive content right at their fingertips and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
Academic Search contents includes:
– Almost 18,000 indexed and abstracted journals
– Full text for over 8700 journals
– More than 7500 of those are peer-reviewed
The HBO Kennisbank (Knowledge base) offers more than 50,000 publications written by professors, researchers and students of universities of applied sciences. This includes works such as articles, research reports and theses. The HBO Kennisbank aims to provide free to use, open access knowledge to improve further research or education. Of course, you can also upload your own work to inspire others
Database containing Dutch newspapers, journals, magazines. Nexis Uni offers access to virtually all articles from all national newspapers (Volkskrant, Trouw, Parool, NRC, Telegraaf, Nederlands Dagblad) and most regional newspapers, including Stentor and Tubantia. Also content from press agencies and many business magazines and opinion magazines, in total over 120 publications. Formerly known as Lexis Nexis.
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 16 million articles, 2,500 journals, 370 full open access journals, 39,000 books and 330,000 topic pages to help researchers discover more insights, achieve more breakthroughs and move their research forward.
The Freedom Collection is available to ScienceDirect Complete academic customers only and offers access to additional non-subscribed Elsevier journal content at a significantly reduced rate. Some titles are not included due to contractual limitations, such as Cell Press, Lancet and Clinics titles, or they are from third party publishers and societies who have opted to exclude their titles.
SpringerLink offers more than 2,700 full text e-journals. Only the articles without the yellow padlock are available to Saxion-users.
Tip: After the first search, de-select the yellow padlock. The system will only show the full text articles you have access to.
SpringerLink disciplines include: Architecture & Design, Astronomy, Biomedical Sciences, Business & Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences & Geography, Economics, Education & Language, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Food Science & Nutrition, Law, Life Sciences, Materials, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy, Physics, Psychology, Public Health, Social Sciences, Statistics etc.
Accumulating over 2,900 journals, spanning all subject areas, Springer continues to be the leading research source that is read, referenced and written by experts in the field. Springer is committed to advancing the conversation among researchers and professionals around the world and is also home to the largest portfolio of open access titles from BioMed Central and SpringerOpen.
A growing collection of leading multi-discipline research. Springer journals collected many ground-breaking articles, written by international experts in the field and influential researchers across all subject areas. Driving academic publishing and advancing discovery with comprehensive and rigorously peer-reviewed content. Springer journals are readily available with enhanced discoverability via SpringerLink, providing quick and easy access to millions of articles.
Beeld en Geluid op school (Sound and Vision at school, formerly known as Academia) is the online access to almost 90,000 audiovisual sources for higher education in the Netherlands.
This unique selection from the archives of the Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision is made available and described especially for education and science.
Beeld en Geluid offers users the possibility to edit, publish and save material.
You can log in to Sound and Vision at school with a Saxion account using the button “Log in with Surf”.
Country Reports org was established in 1997 and provides over 35,000 pages of online content on the cultures and countries of the world. Besides unique content from around the world and detailed information per country, Country Reports offers various tools for comparing countries, interactive games, a currency converter, several lists of geographic phenomena and much more. Learn more about the worlds’s various christmas traditions, national anthems, money from around the world and country flags.
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
DART-Europe provides researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments.
DART-Europe offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues, and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications to achieve DART-Europe’s vision for ETDs.
Ebsco offers Saxion students and staff access to a broad range of subjects through various general and special databases.
These databases are:
- Academic Search – general sciences
- AMED – alternative medicine
- Cinahl – nursing & allied health
- ERIC – education resources
- GreenFILE – human impact on the environment
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete
- Humanities Source
- LISTA – library and information sciences
- Medline
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD (electronic theses and dissertations) research.
With EBSCO Open Dissertations, institutions and students are offered an innovative approach to meeting these goals by driving additional traffic to ETDs in institutional repositories. The program is free for authors and participating institutions with the desired end of making significant open-access content more readily discoverable to end-users within and beyond academic institutions.
Overview of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals from various disciplines, including marketing, accountancy and tourism that are available full text to Saxion.
Emerald offers articles om several subject areas, but only purchased content is fully accessible. This can be identified by the green square in front of the title. It is possible to filter on only the accessible content (show only content I have)
HAL is a multidisciplinary open archive for the sharing of published and unpublished research. It is at the service of researchers in academic institutions, both public and private.
In France, HAL is the national archive chosen by the scientific and academic community for the open dissemination of its research results. The repository is also at the service of researchers affiliated to foreign academic institutions, whether public or private.
By placing the research community at the heart of everything we do, we strive for a future where researchers are motivated to work together, empowered with the tools and services they need to do so, and freed from any barriers that stand in their way. We aim to maximize the impact of scientific research through openness and global collaboration as we truly believe that science works best when research is open.
With the researcher at the heart of the publishing experience, we have created a diverse portfolio of peer-reviewed, open access journals across a wide range of scientific and medical disciplines.
Inview Essential includes all laws and regulations, case law, commentaries, professional literature and journals, bundled in collections by subject and area of law. The Kluwer Navigator consists of handbooks, legal texts, commentaries and modules of Kluwer publications.
NEN Connect is the online standards database of NEN. Saxion’s NEN Connect license offers you access to this collection of standards at all times.
Standard available in NEN Connect are:
- All Dutch standards (NEN, NPR, NTA, HKZ)
- All European and international standards accepted in the Netherlands (NEN-EN, NEN-EN-ISO, NEN-EN-IEC and NEN-IEC)
- Practice guides of NEN
- Hazardous Substances Publication Series (PGS)
Of other standards such as ISO and IEC, only an overview is available, but not the standard itself.
Overview of open access journals from the Cambridge University Press on health care, life sciences, environmental sciences, medicine, etc.
50 partners, from all EU countries, and beyond, will collaborate to work on this large-scale initiative that aims to promote open scholarship and substantially improve the discoverability and reusability of research publications and data.
Backing this vast outreach, is the OpenAIRE platform, the technical infrastructure that is vital for pulling together and interconnecting the large-scale collections of research outputs across Europe. The project will create workflows and services on top of this valuable repository content, which will enable an interoperable network of repositories (via the adoption of common guidelines), and easy upload into an all-purpose repository (via Zenodo).
Online journals published by SAGE Publications. Saxion users have full text access to over 600 journals of this multidisciplinary collection. The main disciplines covered by Sage are:
- Health Sciences
- Life & Biomedical Sciences
- Materials Science & Engineering
- Social Sciences & Humanities
The ‘Advanced search’ option enables you to find ARTICLES by entering search terms. Default the search will be executed in ‘all fields’ unless you select a specific field from the scroll box. There are several boxes available and you may combine search terms with Boolean operators (=and, or, not). By default your search will be limited to: ‘Sage journals available to me’.
As an alternative you may search all Sage content or limit your search to your favorite journals. (To create and make use of your favorite list of journals, please register.)
You may also choose to find JOURNALS from a list of disciplines or select from a complete list of journals. The ‘browse’ option (tab on top) enables finding journals through the A-Z-list. An extensive Help option is available.
Registration is free and gives access to additional services, e.g. content alerts, save searches and citations and save a list with favorite journals.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SpringerOpen includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines. SpringerOpen journals and books are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication. They are subject to high-level peer review, author and production services ensuring quality and reliability of the work.
This database brings together online journal content from three of the world’s leading publishers: Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Psychology Press with over 2100 full text journals on a broad range of subjects. Saxion offers you access to two large subsets of Taylor & Francis:
The Social Science & Humanities Library and the Science & Technology Library
The Social Sciences & Humanities Library consists of nearly 1500 journals and provides an excellent foundation for research and teaching in these fields:
- Anthropology, Archaeology and Heritage
- Arts & Humanities
- Business, Management & Economics
- Criminology & Law
- Education
- Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment
- Library & Information Science
- Media, Cultural & Communication Studies
- Mental Health & Social Care
- Politics, International Relations & Area Studies
- Psychology
- Sociology & Related Disciplines
- Sport, Leisure & Tourism
- Strategic, Defence & Security Studies
The Science & Technology library consists of over 500 journals and includes the content that your users need for research and teaching in the following disciplines:
- Biological, Earth, Environmental & Food Science
- Chemistry
- Engineering, Computing & Technology
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Physics
- Sports Science & Medicine
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals, with no subscription content. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication. Authors have the option of publishing their open access article under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license, as mandated by some research funders.
The online Van Dale dictionaries consist of:
- Grote Van Dale, Contemporary Dutch
- Translation dictionaries German, English, French, Italian, Portuguese, Swedish and Spanish
- Van Dale Oxford English
- Oxford-Hachette French English
- Oxford Pons French German.
- Language manuals Dutch and English
Research data is booming. The opportunity to reveal meaningful linkages – between past and current research, between collaborators, between funding and research impact – is huge, as long as you start with the right data.
With the Web of Science platform, you can access an unrivalled breadth of world-class research literature linked to a rigorously selected core of journals and uniquely discover new information through meticulously captured metadata and citation connections.
The Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, all in all totaling over 33,000 journals, meaning you have the breadth you need to be truly comprehensive in your search.
Wiley Online Journals hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Saxion only has access to the 1500 journals of the Wiley Online Library. Ebooks are not part of the licence.
Wiley Open Access journals are supported by a network of authoritative journals and societies as well as internationally renowned editorial board members. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences.
Health care, wellbeing education
Databases on health care, behaviour, education and wellbeing.
CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, with full-text coverage dating back to 1981
This full-text resource also includes the CINAHL index of thousands of nursing and allied health journals including publications from the National League for Nursing, and the American Nurses’ Association. In addition, this database provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.
Content Includes:
- Full text for more than 600 journals
- Full-text coverage dating back to 1981
- Indexing for nearly 3,100 journals
- More than 2.9 million records
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- Cochrane Methodology Register
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
- Health Technology Assessment Database
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database
MEDLINE with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. MEDLINE uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) .
Content Includes:
- Over 19 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine
Indexed records with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) - Citations from nearly 5,600 worldwide journals in in 60 languages
- Coverage from 1946 to the present
- Publications from scholarly journals
- Majority of journals selected based on the recommendation of the Literature Selection Technical Review Committee
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to more than 500 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more. The database also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
In addition, EBSCO has PDF backfiles for many key journals back to the 1960s and 1970s, including British Journal of Psychology, International Journal of Psychology, Journal of General Psychology, Journal of Clinical Psychology, Journal of Genetic Psychology, Journal of Psychology, Journal of Social Psychology and others.
Subjects Include:
- Anthropology
- Emotional & Behavioral Characteristics
- Mental Processes
- Observational & Experimental Methods
- Psychiatry & Psychology
PubMed, a database maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), serves as a freely accessible portal to a vast collection of biomedical literature. Encompassing over 36 million citations and abstracts from scientific articles, books, and other sources, PubMed stands as an indispensable resource for researchers, clinicians, students, and healthcare professionals.
The database incorporates more than 5,000 journals in 40 languages, rendering an international wealth of knowledge accessible. Information pertaining to medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, and public health can be efficiently retrieved through the use of advanced search features and filters.
In addition to citations and abstracts, PubMed provides links to full-text articles when available, as well as options for saving citations and creating collections.
While PubMed serves as a powerful tool, it does come with certain limitations. Not all full-text articles are freely accessible, and the advanced features may seem intricate to novice users. However, tutorials provided on the PubMed website offer guidance in navigating the database.
BioMed Central is an Science, Technology and Medicine publisher of more than 300 peer-reviewed open access journals.
The collection of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication.
Welcome to Encyclopedia of Social Work, the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP).
Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 800 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
Within the ERIC Collection, you will find records for:
- journal articles
- books
- research syntheses
- conference papers
- technical reports
- policy papers
- other education-related materials
ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Most of these journals are indexed comprehensively – that is, a record for every article in each issue is included in ERIC. Some journals are indexed selectively – that is, only those articles that are education-related are selected for indexing.
The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet and offers access to over 3000 journals on topics such as biology, cardiology, endocrinolgy, infectious diseases, genetics, microbiology and many more.
INVERT, Index of the Dutch-language Nursing Journal Literature, is a database containing comprehensive descriptions of all articles published in Dutch-language nursing journals:
- TVZ,
- Cordiaal,
- Verpleegkunde,
- Venticare magazine,
- Nursing,
- Nederlands tijdschrift voor wondverzorging,
- Oncologica,
- Nurse Academy,
- Nurse Academy GGZ,
- Nurse Academy O&T,
- Onderwijs en Gezondheidszorg …
The bulletins of the national nursing professional associations are also indexed. INVERT has been indexing about fifty journals since 1993, with about 2000 articles per year. So you know exactly what is available on the nursing market in regards to scientific research, book reviews, conference reports and case studies.
ProfessioneelBegeleiden.nl provides access to 5 online journals:
- Tijdschrift voor Coaching,
- LoopbaanVisie,
- TvOO – Tijdschrift voor Ontwikkeling in Organisaties,
- Tijdschrift Positieve Psychologie
- Examens
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). It serves as a digital repository for open access (OA) research articles, providing unrestricted access to a significant body of scientific knowledge.
Established in 2000, PMC has grown to encompass over 8 million full-text articles from over 5,000 journals, representing a substantial portion of the global biomedical literature. PMC’s OA mandate ensures that publicly funded research is freely available to the public, promoting scientific transparency and accelerating the pace of discovery.
PMC stands as a critical resource for researchers, clinicians, students, and the general public, providing barrier-free access to a vast collection of biomedical research. By supporting OA, PMC facilitates knowledge sharing and promotes the advancement of scientific research for the benefit of global health.
Economics
Databases on economics, management & organisation, finance and law
Business Source Premier (BSP) is the most widely used business research database in the industry. The database includes full-text information and searchable quoted references for top journals on a variety of business topics. Full text articles from international finance, economics, management, and marketing journals such as Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), and Journal of Marketing. BSP contains also information about industries and companies.
Business Source Premier includes:
- More than 800 full-text journals and magazines
- More than 550 peer-reviewed full-text journals
- More than 180 embargoed peer-reviewed full-text journals
- More than 480 full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus
Topics include:
- Accounting
- Economics
- Finance
- Management
- Management Information Systems
- Marketing
- Operational Management
The Emerald subject collection contains several English full text journals in the field of Accounting & Finance.
Inview Essential consists of all Dutch laws and regulations, case law, commentaries, professional literature and journals, bundled in collections by subject and area of law. Inview Essential also contains handbooks, legal texts, commentaries and modules of Dutch Kluwer publications. A brief overview of the sources:
- Jurisprudence journals:
- AB Rechtspraak Bestuursrecht
- BNB
- Nederlandse Jurisprudentie
- Praktijkgids
- Tijdschrift voor Ambtenarenrecht
- Vakstudienieuws
- Nog 20 andere titels
- Professional journals:
- Computerrecht
- Data Juridica
- De Gemeentestem
- Nederlands Juristenblad
- Tijdschrift Recht en Arbeid
- nog 25 andere titels
- Fiscale Encyclopedie De Vakstudie
- Asser-serie
- Groene serie
- Tekst & Commentaar-serie
- Module-serie
- Vakstudie-serie
In addition, various reference works such as Arbeidsovereenkomst, Encyclopedie Sociale Voorzieningen, Lexplicatie en Ruimtelijk Bestuursrecht
Reach contains extensive (financial) information on 5000 companies within the Netherlands and basic information on all registered Dutch companies.
Using Reach you can research individual companies, search for specific profiles or perform analyses.
Reach contains the following information:
- Financial company information, in detailed format, with 10 years history of the 5000 largest companies
- Financial health indicators
- Directors and contacts
- Stock market data for registered companies
- Detailed company structures and company relations
- Shareholders and subsidiaries
- Market research
- F&O deals and rumors
Statista is a leading provider of statistical market and consumer data. Over 1,100 visionaries, experts and do-ers continuously reinvent Statista, thereby constantly developing successful new products and business models. The database offers insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries and consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.
Statista is a combined provider of market research as well as research and analysis services. It sees itself as a research and information design agency. Statista creates customized infographics, videos, presentations and publications in the corporate design of our customers.
Industries include:
- Consumer Goods
- Internet
- Media & Advertising
- Retail & Trade
- Sports & Recreation
- Technology & Telecommunications
- Transportation & Logistics
- Travel, Tourism & Hospitality
Watch the introduction video.
Finance & Control consists of two parts: the magazine Finance & Control and an internet base (Finance & ControlBase).
The Finance & Control magazine
Finance & Control is the bimonthly magazine that supports the financial manager, CFO and (group) controller in the daily practice. The magazine covers finance in a broad sense: new insights, trends and developments at home and abroad.
Finance & ControlBase
Finance & ControlBase is a database with more than 3,000 articles from leading Kluwer publications in the field of financial management and administration. The articles are written by top-notch authors and commented on by an expert editorial team that ensures quality and timeliness. Finance & ControlBase is in full swing. New articles are added daily. Subscribers are kept informed of new additions through the site and by means of the free KluwerFinancialManagement e-zine.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 1 million records, with coverage dating as far back as 1930.
Some 900 publications are available full text, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Some of these journals are:
- Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research
- Current Issues in Tourism
- Hotel & Motel Management
- International Journal of Tourism Research
- Journal of Ecotourism
- Journal of Leisure Research
- Journal of Sport Tourism
- Journal of Sustainable Tourism
- Restaurant Business
- Tourism & Hospitality Research
- and many more.
Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.
Subjects Include:
- Culinary Arts
- Demographics & Statistics
- Development & Investment
- Food & Beverage Management
- Hospitality Law
- Hotel Management & Administrative Practices
- Leisure & Business Travel
- Market Trends
- Technology
Everything on Dutch migration and immigration law. Part of Sdu’s Opmaat
Includes.:
- Commentaar Europees migratierecht;
- Commentaar Vreemdelingenbesluit 2000 (in bewerking);
- Commentaar Vreemdelingenwet 2000;
- Commentaar Wet arbeid vreemdelingen;
- Commentaar Wet Centraal Orgaan opvang asielzoekers (in bewerking);
- Commentaar Wet inburgering;
- Commentaren wet- en regelgeving:
- Historische versies nationaal vreemdelingenrecht;
- Historische versies Vreemdelingencirculaire 2000;
- Internationaal migratierecht;
- Journaal Vreemdelingenrecht;
- Jurisprudentie Vreemdelingenrecht;
- Nationaal vreemdelingenrecht;
- Nieuwsberichten Migratierecht.nl.
- Overige nationale wet- en regelgeving;
- WBV’s en TBV’s;
The Fiscal Encyclopedia NDFR (Nederlandse Documentatie Fiscaal Recht) is an online tax reference work that has become a leading tax portal. NDFR offers the user not only reference possibilities but also topicality and educational depth.
First and foremost, NDFR is a tax reference work; a source for advice and procedures, organized and elaborated per article using clear tab sheets. In addition NDFR offers topicality through a daily tax news section Daily News, an overview of legislative proposals and cassation and an overview of recent articles in the journals of Sdu (Newsfeed journals). NDFR also provides plenty of background information for educational purposes; all articles from the journals of Sdu and various book series of Sdu are included.
The NRIT (Dutch Research Institute for Recreation and Tourism) Knowledgebase for professionals in leisure, tourism and hospitality. Students and employees of Saxion can download previous issues of NRIT Actueel and NRIT Magazine. You can also search the knowledge base with news, articles, press releases and publications and download the results.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Its goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. The OECD draws on 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.
Together with governments, policy makers and citizens, OECD works on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges. From improving economic performance and creating jobs to fostering strong education and fighting international tax evasion, OECD provides a unique forum and knowledge hub for data and analysis, exchange of experiences, best-practice sharing, and advice on public policies and international standard-setting.
OECD Data lets you find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications.
Dutch database providing access to:
- Official Publications
- Legislation and regulations
- Case law of the supreme court, Council of State, Courts of Appeal, tribunals and other bodies
- SDU jurisprudence journals
- EU law and regulations.
The Bulletins (Parliamentary reports, Parliamentary Papers and Parliamentary Questions) from before 1995 can be consulted at https://www.statengeneraaldigitaal.nl
Access to subject collection of journals about Property and Real Estate. This collections also contains journals on Facility Management, Financial Management and Construction. The articles are mostly full text available.
Regelingen en Voorzieningen contains specific information from current sources on the subjects of the Dutch Digitale Grote Almanak (DGA). It contains practical information in the social and legal field; about all the schemes and provisions that help and service providers have to deal with in their daily work.
It contains information on subjects such as social security, study financing, dismissal, pensions, child care, procedural law, the environment, divorce and home exchange. Each subject is accompanied by a reference to other relevant regulations and provisions.
The UNWTO Elibrary is an information source offering an unparalleled coverage of research and information in the area of tourism and available to our Member States, Affiliate Members and Subscribers.
The subject areas reflect all important themes moving the tourism sector and include, among other, ecotourism, sustainable development, finance and investment, risk and crisis management, market research, tourism statistics and poverty alleviation. The UNWTO Elibrary contains books, journals and statistical reports by country and by indicator.
This Emerald theme collection of English full text articles in the field of Tourism and Hospitality. Contains over 900 articles.
Technology
Databases on engineering, life science, design & technology and ICT & media
BRIS Warenhuis contains all building regulations and relevant documents for the professional.
To use BRIS Warenhuis you need a Saxion KennisID profile.
Via the link https://www.kennisid.nl/Portaal/saxion you will be directed to the self-registration page of BRIS. You can then create a profile with your Saxion e-mail address.
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Approximately 20,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five million full-text documents from some of the world’s most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
The content in IEEE Xplore comprises:
- Over 200 journals
- Over 5,000 books
- 3+ million conference papers
- 10,000+ technical standards
- Hundreds of course hours
SpringerMaterials at materials.springer.com is a comprehensive database for identifying material properties which covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields.
The latest addition to the platform, SpringerMaterials Interactive, is a set of advanced functionalities for visualizing and analyzing data. Examples of these functionalities include interactive graphs, dynamic data tables, and side-by- side comparisons of materials/properties.
The platform is aimed at academic and governmental institutions with a research focus on materials science, physics, chemistry, and engineering, and is supporting research and development in corporate organizations in the fields of bulk and fine chemical manufacturing, petroleum and petrochemicals, semiconductors and electronic materials, optical metals, ceramics, polymer synthesis and processing, and materials for fuels and energy application.
Springer Materials contains:
- 4,000 detailed Phase Diagram Reports
- 43,000 Interactive Phase Diagrams on binary and ternary systems
- 240,000 Crystal Structures
- 25,000 records on corrosion data for 1000+ metal systems and 275+ environments
- Gas Adsorption Data on 1500 isotherms and 60+ adsorbents
- Thermophysical Property Data: 472,000 data points for 1,200+ binary mixtures and 51 substances
- Polymer Thermodynamic Data: 30,000 data points for 150 polymers & macromolecules
- Book Content 480+ volumes from 205,000+ documents in the Landolt-Börnstein, Springer Handbooks, SpringerMaterials Fundamentals and other related resources
NEN Connect is the online standards database of NEN. Saxion’s NEN Connect license offers you access to this collection of standards at all times.
Standard available in NEN Connect are:
- All Dutch standards (NEN, NPR, NTA, HKZ)
- All European and international standards accepted in the Netherlands (NEN-EN, NEN-EN-ISO, NEN-EN-IEC and NEN-IEC)
- Practice guides of NEN
- Hazardous Substances Publication Series (PGS)
Of other standards such as ISO and IEC, only an overview is available, but not the standard itself.
Toxic (formerly Chemiekaarten Online) provides access to the most recent and validated data of nearly 1,400 single (pure) substances. The unique cooperation between both medical and chemical experts guarantees that the right measures can be taken even in emergency situations.
- Over 1400 single substances with their chemical properties, risks, prevention and emergency measures in one reference book
- One page per chemical with all relevant data
- Clear at a glance what to do in case of emergencies
- Validated information, by independent team of chemical and medical experts
- Has proven its authority for more than 25 years
- Useful for drawing up your emergency plan and risk identification
The ACM Digital Library consists of a large collection of 400.000 full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology, including: the complete collection of ACM’s publications, journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles
ARIADNE is a research infrastructure for archaeology. Its main objective is to support research, learning and teaching by enabling access to digital resources and innovative new services.
ARIADNE does this by maintaining a catalogue of digital datasets, by promoting best practices in the management and use of digital data in archaeology, by offering training and advice, and by supporting the development of innovative new services for archaeology.
The datasets that are registered in the ARIADNE catalogue are held by its partners and have been created through research, in excavations, in fieldwork, laboratory and other projects. In recent years archaeologists have been making increasing use of sophisticated digital equipment and techniques. During the course of a research project large volumes of data are created and collected, and become part of the research archive. ARIADNE aims to make these archives available through its portal for researchers to consult when starting new research.
BeheerEnOnderhoudkosten Totaal contains up-to-date and well-founded cost data for the effective management and maintenance of real estate. To be used for budgeting, calculating and testing.
BeheerEnOnderhoudkosten Totaal consists of 4 parts:
- Multiyear maintenance contains multiyear maintenance data for structural, installation and civil engineering components. It also contains overviews of the technical lifespan in years of the technical installation components.
- Building component costs contains contractor and subcontractor costs for common work in and around buildings.
- Condition costs contains data about the condition of architectural and installation components. Complete with an overview of measures for maintenance activities and the associated costs.
- Cleaning costs contains the cleaning costs and the number of hours required per room in a building. In addition, you will find the (cost) data and number of hours per cleaning action for detailed calculations.
Contains up-to-date cost data for calculating construction projects.
Bouwkosten consists of:
- Large-scale residential construction: cost data for budgeting and estimating serial residential construction projects.
- Large-scale non-residential (utility) construction: cost data for budgeting and estimating commercial and office buildings at building component and element levels
- Small-scale construction
- Small-scale maintenance and repair
- Small-scale renovation
A tool for construction that allows you to create professional element and project estimates
Bouwkostenkompas (construction cost compass) offers a very comprehensive list of construction cost figures for various building types, civil works, demolition, ancillary costs and monthly indices. Also, Bouwkostenkompas has an easy online estimating program.
Cement is a knowledge platform by and for structural designers and structural engineers in civil engineering, housing and utility construction when it comes to building with concrete.
For the development of the engineering profession it is essential that new knowledge and experience are recorded and shared. For concrete and concrete structures, the magazine Cement has played a central and indispensable role for over 70 years by transferring knowledge through independent editorial articles in the magazine and online, using video and through news reports. But there is also room for opinion and discussion in blogs, columns and interviews. Cement covers theory and practice, research and innovation.
The knowledge bank of the COB (Dutch knowledge center for underground construction and underground space use) contains hundreds of (research) reports, guidelines, manuals, guidelines and drawings; originating from Rijkswaterstaat or prepared by the COB and its participants
Energie+ is a knowledge platform on local renewable energy, the most important energy topic for the coming years. Production, regulation, financing, organization and communication are key to this topic. With a bi-weekly newsletter, a website and a magazine, Energie+ serves persons involved in the transition to local and sustainable energy supply.
Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
Most of them are patent applications rather than granted patents. Patent applications normally represent the first publication of a new idea, appearing ahead of journal articles and before new products reach the market. Espacenet also includes patent family information, legal status information, references, – citations and links to the European Patent Register and to selected national patent registers
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Content Includes:
- Indexing and abstracts for more than 1.1 million records
- Open access full text for more than 15,800 records
Subjects Include:
- Global climate change
- Green building
- Pollution
- Sustainable agriculture
- Renewable energy
- Recycling
GWWkosten provides complete and substantiated cost data for estimating, calculating or making an MJO (multi-year maintenance planning) budget for small-scale and serial residential and commercial construction projects, as well as substantiated installation costs at the building section level and at the STABU estimate level. You can browse through the tables to find the right cost data, or you can use several online tools.
The GWW cost estimation program enables you to estimate the costs of common infrastructure projects on the one hand and to test the financial feasibility of a plan on the other. Both of the total project and of project components.
ISSO Open provides digital access to the ISSO products licensed by Saxion.
To use ISSO Open you need a Saxion Knowledge ID profile.
The link https://www.kennisid.nl/Portaal/saxion takes you to the Saxion Knowledge ID self-registration page. You can then create a profile with your Saxion e-mail address.
Just-Style.com is one of a network of 40+ proprietary B2B websites, with an unrivalled global audience of active decision makers, influencers, and opinion leaders across the world with a combined readership of 55 million industry professionals each year.
As part of GlobalData, we have access to over 1bn data points including companies, deals, projects and forecasts, and trends. Leading data informs and supports our industry leading content. With expertise spanning more than 80 markets globally and driven by 800+ award-winning journalists, researchers, and analysts, we connect you with the information that makes and breaks businesses every day.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes over 580 core journals, some 50 priority journals and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Subject coverage includes:
- Library Automation
- Bibliometrics
- Cataloging
- Classification
- Information Management
- Librarianship
- Online Information Retrieval
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
Chemists in every field search for chemistry literature and bioactivity data with Reaxys. Query and filter for chemical substances and reactions with an intuitive interface. And discover more property types than with any other chemistry database. Start with quick search and customize with query builder — the most powerful query engine in a chemistry database.
Reaxys has the largest number of customization options and a transparent query process. You can easily follow your chosen path through to results. Designed by chemists, Reaxys is more than a fast and flexible chemistry database. It’s a cheminformatics solution that delivers chemistry facts the way chemists need them.
Why choose Reaxys for your chemistry research?
Reaxys is built on expert-curated chemistry information and enriched with cutting-edge technology. It is also the leading database for bioactivity data. Scientists in corporate R&D and academia gain actionable insights that lead to innovation, while saving time and money. Reaxys also supports teaching excellence in chemistry education.
Reaxys excerpts and quickly retrieves the most relevant chemical information, so you can:
- Decide how and which compounds to make with confidence
- Find state-of-the-art routes to synthesize molecules with superior properties
- Discover novel molecules with improved activities against specified targets
- Stay current with updates on new chemistry publications and patents
- Find the most reliable vendors of starting materials and intermediates
- Search integrated in-house and external data
- By integrating in-house and external data, Reaxys creates a streamlined research workflow. Critical in-house knowledge becomes searchable and actionable. This seamless integration sets Reaxys apart from other chemistry research solutions.
The fields of Housing & Urban Planning and Spatial Planning will continue to grow together in the coming years. The spatial planning of cities and regions is deeply connected to the whole of society and economy. The most urgent themes that professionals will be examining in the coming years are Energy Transition, Housing, Agriculture and Horticulture, Economy and Mobility.
In this new network, these social issues will be centralized by working thematically. Within the theme overlaps and connections between the various domains will be examined and promising plans of action as well as concrete, constructive solutions will be highlighted. The knowledge network Space and Living is for the professionals and organizations that recognize and acknowledge this trend.
An overview of all archaeology journals, which are full text accessible in the Taylor & Francis database.
Textiles Intelligence offers high quality business information and market analyses to the world’s fibre, textile and apparel industries, including markets, product innovations, investments, technology, trade policy, sourcing, strategy, and much more.
Textiles Intelligence helps to identify the key developments that are likely to affect business and supply information which will enable users to make informed decisions and plan strategies with confidence.
Saxion’s subscription to Textiles Intelligence includes:
- Performance Apparel Markets
- Technical Textile Markets
- Home Textiles Update
Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and many more
Fully international in scope and coverage, the contents have been compiled under the supervision of a renowned global Editorial Advisory Board. It contains over 1,000 major articles, written by some 3,000 authors who are experts in their fields and affiliated to leading chemical companies or research institutes. With more than 16 million words, nearly 15,000 tables, 25,000 figures, and innumerable literature sources and cross-references, ULLMANN’S Encyclopedia offers a wealth of comprehensive and well-structured information on all facets of industrial chemistry.